Dan Mills Technical Award

The Board of Directors approves the establishment of the Dan Mills Technical Award to recognize a Chapter CTT member (Chair, Vice-chair, or TEGA Subcommittee Chair) who excels in promoting technical, energy, and government activities of the CTT Committee.



The purpose of the award is to stimulate effective participation by the ASHRAE Chapter CTT Committee in connection with technical, energy, and government activities issues related to the purpose of the Society.

The Dan Mills Technical Award is endowed in memory of Dan Mills of the Memphis, Tennessee Chapter, to honor the one Chapter CTT responsible member (Chair, vice-Chair, or TEGA Subcommittee Chair in ASHRAE who has the most outstanding year and meets the eligibility requirements.


Guidelines for Dan Mills Award Presentation

Each year the Society recognizes exceptional performance by the Chapter CTT responsible member (Chair, Vice-Chair, or TEGA Subcommittee Chair) who is determined to have best accomplished the goals established by the Chapter Technology Transfer Committee.

A typical award application includes a standard transmittal letter, a narrative section, the criteria print sheet, relevant documentation, etc. Additional detailed information can be provided.


Eligibility Requirements:

The winner is selected from regional entries. Each region may submit one entry. The CTT RVC is responsible for organizing the regional awards program, establishing regional submission deadlines and selecting the regional entry to chair of the CTT Committee.

Candidate must be a member of ASHRAE in good standing.

Must be assigned to a Chapter in the Region that submits his or her name. Must be the CTT Chapter Chair, Vice-Chair, or TEGA Subcommittee Chair of the Chapter to which he or she is assigned.

Must have attended the CRC and CTT Workshop for the award year, in the Region for which he or she serves as CTT Chapter Chair, Vice-Chair, or TEGA Subcommittee Chair. The RVC shall select the best nominee to forward to the CTT Committee based on the award criteria.



A minimum of three judges will be selected by the CTT Committee Chair. At least one judge will be the Government Activities member of the committee, and no current RVC shall be a judge. At least one judge should have experience as a chapter officer. Judging guidelines for this award are provided in the CTT Committee Manual of Procedures. The judging occurs during the Annual Meeting.



The Dan Mills Technical Award is presented at the Society’s Annual Meeting. The winner is recognized during the Honors and Awards portion of the Plenary Session.